Youth Development Office

A Youth Development Office was mandated to be created in every province, city or municipality under Section 25 of the Sangguniang Kabataan Reform Act of 2015. It is supposed to be headed by a youth development officer with the rank of at least division chief. Such may be put under the Office of the Local Chief Executive, the Office of the Planning and Development, the Office of the Social Welfare, or in any other office deemed appropriate by the local government unit. If the funds of the local government unit are sufficient, it can be a separate department with divisions and units for policy and planning, administration and finance, and programs and operations. In the event when the local government unit has exceeded the prescribed personal services limitations, the local chief executive may designate existing personnel whom he or she deems fit to serve this purpose until such time that the local government unit can already create this office.